North Carolina wedding license laws are simple and affordable for prospective brides and grooms from any state. You may obtain your marriage license at any courthouse in North Carolina. The Buncombe County Clerk’s office is conveniently located in the middle of downtown Asheville (205 College Street, 828-250-4300). For your convenience, you can apply online for your marriage license at the Buncombe County Register of Deeds. Most of the state’s County Clerk’s offices are open from Monday through Friday from 8:00 until 5:00. However, we recommend you contact the office you plan to use and confirm their hours and location.
Requirements to Receive a North Carolina Marriage License
The marriage license fee is $60.00. Accepted forms of payment are cash/check/Visa/MasterCard. Official copies are $10 per copy. We highly recommend pre-paying for official copies when applying for your marriage license!
You do not have to be a previous or current resident of North Carolina to obtain a marriage license that is valid statewide.
No blood test or physical exam is required.
You will receive your license immediately, and you can marry immediately after receiving your license.
You must be 18 years old or older to marry without parental consent. A birth certificate may be necessary to show proof of age.
Your license will expire 60 days from the date it is issued.
If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse’s death must be provided. If the divorce or spouse’s death had taken place within the last 60 days, bring a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate. A copy of your divorce records or spouse’s death certificate can be ordered online.